Subscription method

From Community Weaver 3 Help
Jump to: navigation, search

The payment feature allows coordinators to define a Subscription method for their TimeBank. The subscription method determines when your timebank's members are reminded to pay their subscriptions. It is a choice that must be made before enabling the payment feature in Community Weaver 3.1. The Subscription method cannot be changed after the payment feature has been enabled, without loss of payment data.


The choices for subscription method in Community Weaver 3.1

Selecting your subscription model largely depends on how your TimeBank collects (or plans to collect) subscription fees. There are two choices:

  • Renewal Date Once a Year (the renewal date will be the same date for all members)
  • Renewal on Anniversary Date (the renewal date will be the anniversary of the member's approval date)

Your choice here defines the subscription method used in the payment feature for your entire timebank. For both methods, members will receive subscription notifications about their upcoming subscription renewal dates. The automatic notification emails can be configured for subscription fees or for donations.


Choosing a subscription model

There are advantages and disadvantages to either method:

Renewal Date once a year (pros and cons)

For TimeBanks which do an annual membership subscription drive, this subscription method focuses the majority of the work related to subscriptions collections and data entry during one portion of the year - your annual subscription date.

The advantages of this method are:

  • You will have an influx of subscription dues focused once a year.
  • You can focus only for a short period annually on subscription collections and updates.
  • You can use the Broadcast_Emails functionality annually to raise awareness, gather donations, and do other subscription-related activities.
  • Issues dealing with member's access being limited due to non-payment (an optional feature), will be happen once a year.


The disadvantages are:

  • Members who join mid-year may need to pay prorated subscriptions, and it may cause some confusion.
  • You will have an influx of subscription dues only once a year.
  • Your subscription work for all members will take place once a year.


Renewal on Member's Anniversary Date (pros and cons)

For TimeBanks which collect membership subscriptions annually based upon the anniversary of the members approval date, the subscription method spreads the subscription over all 12 months of the year. Because members join and are approved at different times, the members annual subscription period starts on the date they are approved.

The advantages of this method are:

  • You will receive subscription funds each month of the year.
  • The amount of work to collect and track subscriptions will be distributed over all months.
  • If you want to use the Broadcast_Emails functionality to raise awareness, gather donations, and do other subscription-related activities, you will need to do it once a month.
  • Issues dealing with member's access being limited due to non-payment (an optional feature), will be fewer at one time but possibly each month.

The disadvantages of this method are:

  • It may more difficult to run a single campaign to collecting annual subscriptions as they do not correspond to one annual date.
  • Monthly collections will can vary month-to-month.
  • Issues dealing with member's access being limited due to non-payment (an optional feature), will be fewer at one time but possibly each month.


Configure payments page before payments are enabled

Subscription Method details

Renewal Date Once a Year (the renewal date will be the same date for all members)

If you send annual subscription reminders to your members on one specific date during the year, choose this option. The renewal date will be the same for all members, regardless of when they joined the TimeBank.

For example, if you choose the date April 15, 2016 and click Enable payment features – all members subscription renewal dates will be set to that date.

Note: When recording payments you can set a new renewal date for each timebank member regardless of the annual renewal date.

Renewal on Anniversary Date (the renewal date will be the anniversary of the member's approval date)

If you send annual subscription reminders to your members on the anniversary date of their joining your timebank, choose this option. This is then that date that this subscription method is activated in your timebank. It is not the renewal date for each member.

For example, if you choose the date April 15, 2016 and click Enable payment features – each member's subscription renewal dates will be set to the first anniversary of their approval date that is AFTER April 15, 2016.

Note: When recording payments you can set a new renewal date for timebank members regardless of the activation date selected.

The renewal dates for each member are computed as follows:

  • If the member's approval date (month and day) is before your selected activation date (month and day) in the year, their renewal date is set to the (month and date) in the year after your selected activation date.
  • If the member's approval date (month and day) is after your selected activation date in this year, their renewal date is set to the month and day in the same year as your selected activation date.

So, by way of example, let's say we have three members:

  • Alex's approval date is January 31, 2013
  • Blair's approval date is July 15, 2015
  • Casey's approval date is October 31, 2014

If I choose a payment feature activation date of June 1, 2016 then:

  • Alex's renewal date is set to January 31, 2017, the first anniversary of her approval date after the activation date.
  • Blair's renewal date is set to July 15, 2016, the first anniversary of her approval date after the activation date.
  • Casey's renewal date is set to October 31, 2016, the first anniversary of his approval date after the activation date.


Changing the subscription method can only be done when the payment feature is completely disabled, which will mean a loss of your subscription and payment records.