Member privacy

From Community Weaver 3 Help
Revision as of 13:13, 21 September 2015 by Eric (Talk | contribs)

Jump to: navigation, search

Member privacy settings affects what information is visible

  • to visitors to your site who do not have a valid login or password.
  • to other members after they login.

The group of users called Everyone is anyone or any computer (meaning search engines) which access your site. Learn more about how visitors are grouped. This would also people who have joined the timebank, have created a login, but are applying members who are not yet approved by the coordinators.

The group of users called Members is all approved mmebers of your timebank after they have logged in. Learn more about how visitors are grouped.


Where to find this setting

This setting is something only Admin Coordinators can edit. It is found:

  • TimeBank "gear" menu icon
  • Section "Configure"
  • "General" menu item
  • "Features" tab

When this value is checked

This value is, by default, checked for TimeBanks which have migrated from CW2, as it preserves the way that Community Weaver 2 handled privacy. You may wish to keep this value checked if:

  • You do not wish to allow members of your TimeBank to expose any information to non-members
  • You do not want the content of your TimeBank easily searched using Search engines

When this value is checked:

How it affects Everyone

  • Timebanker's Talents displays nothing more than the number of members visible within each category
  • Offer and Request lists display only the title of the offer or request
  • Offers and Requests details can not be viewed at all

How it affects Members and Coordinators

  • Members and Coordinators are unable to update their privacy settings to include "Everyone" (the option is not visible)
  • Coordinators are able to change the visibility settings for Alerts, News, Events, and Pages to be visible to "Everyone"

When this value is unchecked

When member privacy is disabled (unchecked), members are able to expose as much or as little information as they desire. You may wish to enable this feature if:

  • Members wish to have control over which information is exposed to non-members
  • You want better search engine visibility
  • Members wish to link to offer or request pages to post them on FaceBook

How it affects Everyone

  • TimeBanker's Talents displays only member information which is visible to Everyone.
  • Offer and Request lists display only member information which is visible to Everyone, and the body of the offer or request is stripped of numbers and email addresses.
  • Offer and Request detail pages display only member information which is visible to Everyone, and the body of the offer or request is stripped of numbers and email addresses.

How it affects Members and Coordinators

  • Members and Coordinators are able to update their privacy settings to include "Everyone" (the option is visible)
  • Coordinators are able to change the visibility settings for Alerts, News, Events, and Pages to be visible to "Everyone" (the option is visible)

What's the big deal?

Privacy is a very important aspect about your site and the decision to expose information to non-members should be taken with care.