Difference between revisions of "Member privacy"

From Community Weaver 3 Help
Jump to: navigation, search
(Created)
 
m
Line 1: Line 1:
'''Member privacy''' settings affects what information is visible to visitors to your site who do not have a valid login or password. Within the interface this group of users is called '''Everyone''' – and it includes pretty much anyone or any computer (meaning search engines) which reach your site. Learn more about [[how visitors are grouped|Visibility and permissions]].
+
'''Member privacy''' settings affects what information is visible to visitors to your site who do not have a valid login or password. Within the interface this group of users is called '''Everyone''' – and it includes pretty much anyone or any computer (meaning search engines) which reach your site. Learn more about [[Visibility and permissions|how visitors are grouped]].
  
 
== When this value is checked  ==
 
== When this value is checked  ==

Revision as of 03:54, 30 October 2014

Member privacy settings affects what information is visible to visitors to your site who do not have a valid login or password. Within the interface this group of users is called Everyone – and it includes pretty much anyone or any computer (meaning search engines) which reach your site. Learn more about how visitors are grouped.

When this value is checked

This value is, by default, checked for TimeBanks which have migrated from CW2, as it preserves the way that Community Weaver 2 handled privacy. You may wish to keep this value checked if:

  • You do not wish to allow members of your TimeBank to expose any information to non-members
  • You do not want the content of your TimeBank easily searched using Search engines

When this value is checked:

How it affects Everyone

  • Timebanker's Talents displays nothing more than the number of members visible within each category
  • Offer and Request lists display only the title of the offer or request
  • Offers and Requests details can not be viewed at all

How it affects Members and Coordinators

  • Members and Coordinators are unable to update their privacy settings to include "Everyone" (the option is not visible)
  • Coordinators are unable to change the visibility settings for Alerts, News, Events, and Pages to be visible to "Everyone" (the option is not visible)

When this value is unchecked

When member privacy is disabled (unchecked), members are able to expose as much or as little information as they desire. You may wish to enable this feature if:

  • Members wish to have control over which information is exposed to non-members
  • You want better search engine visibility
  • Members wish to link to offer or request pages to post them on FaceBook

How it affects Everyone

  • TimeBanker's Talents displays only member information which is visible to Everyone.
  • Offer and Request lists display only member information which is visible to Everyone, and the body of the offer or request is stripped of numbers and email addresses.
  • Offer and Request detail pages display only member information which is visible to Everyone, and the body of the offer or request is stripped of numbers and email addresses.

How it affects Members and Coordinators

  • Members and Coordinators are able to update their privacy settings to include "Everyone" (the option is visible)
  • Coordinators are able to change the visibility settings for Alerts, News, Events, and Pages to be visible to "Everyone" (the option is visible)

What's the big deal?

Privacy is a very important aspect about your site and the decision to expose information to non-members should be taken with care.