Difference between revisions of "Member privacy"

From Community Weaver 3 Help
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 5: Line 5:
 
The group of users called '''Everyone''' is anyone or any computer (meaning search engines) which access your site. Learn more about [[Visibility and permissions|how visitors are grouped]]. This would also people who have joined the timebank, have created a login, but are applying members who are not yet approved by the coordinators.
 
The group of users called '''Everyone''' is anyone or any computer (meaning search engines) which access your site. Learn more about [[Visibility and permissions|how visitors are grouped]]. This would also people who have joined the timebank, have created a login, but are applying members who are not yet approved by the coordinators.
  
The group of users called '''Members''' is all approved mmebers of your timebank after they have logged in. Learn more about [[Visibility and permissions|how visitors are grouped]].
+
The group of users called '''Members''' is all approved mmembers of your timebank after they have logged in. Learn more about [[Visibility and permissions|how visitors are grouped]].
  
 
== What's the big deal? ==
 
== What's the big deal? ==
  
Privacy is a very important aspect about your site and the decision to expose information to non-members should be taken with care. <!-- TODO-->
+
There is a site-wide privacy setting, which only [[Admin Coordinators]] can change.
 +
Changing it will allow
 +
:* Everyone to see the description in offers and requests to be seen by Everyone.
 +
:* Everyone to see the members (using initials) listed in Timebanker's Talents.
 +
:* Members to exposing their information to Everyone.
 +
 
 +
Privacy is a very important aspect about your site and the decision to expose information to non-members should be taken with care. If you allow more access to offers and requests, you might want to review your sites Terms of Service and adapt them to reflect the change in privacy. <!-- TODO-->
  
  
 
== Where to find this setting ==
 
== Where to find this setting ==
  
There is a site-wide setting, which only [[Admin Coordinators]] can change, which will prevent Members from exposing their information to Everyone. It is found:
+
It is found:
  
 
* TimeBank "gear" menu icon
 
* TimeBank "gear" menu icon

Revision as of 13:44, 21 September 2015

Member privacy settings affects what information is visible

  • to visitors to your site who do not have a valid login or password.
  • to other members after they login.

The group of users called Everyone is anyone or any computer (meaning search engines) which access your site. Learn more about how visitors are grouped. This would also people who have joined the timebank, have created a login, but are applying members who are not yet approved by the coordinators.

The group of users called Members is all approved mmembers of your timebank after they have logged in. Learn more about how visitors are grouped.

What's the big deal?

There is a site-wide privacy setting, which only Admin Coordinators can change. Changing it will allow

  • Everyone to see the description in offers and requests to be seen by Everyone.
  • Everyone to see the members (using initials) listed in Timebanker's Talents.
  • Members to exposing their information to Everyone.

Privacy is a very important aspect about your site and the decision to expose information to non-members should be taken with care. If you allow more access to offers and requests, you might want to review your sites Terms of Service and adapt them to reflect the change in privacy.


Where to find this setting

It is found:

  • TimeBank "gear" menu icon
  • Section "Configure"
  • "General" menu item
  • "Features" tab

When this value is checked

This value is, by default, checked, as it preserves the way that Community Weaver 2 handled privacy. You may wish to keep this value checked if:

  • You do not wish to allow members of your TimeBank to expose any information to non-members
  • You do not want the content of your TimeBank easily searched using Search engines

When this value is checked:

How it affects Everyone

  • Timebanker's Talents displays nothing more than the number of members visible within each category. Members details are not visible.
  • Offer and Request lists display only the title of the offer or request. Offers and Requests details can not be viewed at all.

How it affects Members and Coordinators

  • Members and Coordinators are unable to update their privacy settings to include "Everyone" (the option is not visible)
  • Admin Coordinators are able to change the visibility settings for Alerts, News, Events, and Pages to be visible to "Everyone"


When this value is unchecked

When member privacy is disabled (unchecked), members have the choice to expose profile information to Everyone. You may wish to enable this feature if:

  • You want to allow Members to expose their information to non-members (profile, picture, email addresses, telephone, street address, biography, first and last names)
  • You want to allow Everyone, including search engines to details of the offers and requests adn more details of Timebanker's Talents.


What is visible to Everyone

  • TimeBanker's Talents displays member information which is visible to Everyone.
  • Offer and Request lists display member information which is visible to Everyone, and the body of the offer or request, which is stripped of phone numbers and email addresses.
  • Offer and Request detail pages display member information which is visible to Everyone, and the body of the offer or request, which is stripped of phone numbers and email addresses.

How it affects Members and Coordinators

  • Members and Coordinators are able to update their privacy settings for profile information to visible by "Everyone" (the option is visible)
  • Coordinators are able to change the visibility settings for Alerts, News, Events, and Pages to be visible to "Everyone" (the option is visible)